First time here? Questions? Talk to members and volunteers right now! The Hospitality Club
...bringing people together!
Estonian  English  German  Spanish  French
Finnish  Italian  Lithuanian  Dutch  Polish
Brazilian  Portugese  Russian  Turkish  Ukrainian 
Login Sign up!
 Information
All countries
Home
FAQ
Tour
Experiences
Ambassadors
Sample Profiles
Rules
Media
About us
Forum
Chat
Sitemap
Main Menu


 What is this?
The Hospitality Club is the world's largest hospitality exchange organization. We are thousands of friendly members world wide who offer each other free accommodation when traveling. Membership is free and joining just takes a minute - we would love to have you onboard!

Public Profile          
Name:Romuald Bokej My photo!
Street:hidden 
City: Järna 
Region/State: Stockholm 
Postal Code (ZIP): 153 95 
Country: Sweden 
Date of Birth:11.12.1980Gender: Male 
Occupation: environmentalist, musician
Travels and interests
Languages spoken: English, русский, deutsch, polski, svenska, lietuvių, un poco español, maličkosť po slovensky. Some clue in: norska, danska, slavic languages.
Hobbies, Interests: Extreme (survival) travel, hitch-hiking, eco-activism, animal rights, gardening, biodynamic farming and eco-lifestyle, sustainability, painting/drawing, busking, songwriting, torturing my guitar (sometimes I switch onto accordion, piano or djembé), amateur climbing (love it, but can't really do that properly yet), languages, computer animation, basic HTML, editing Lithuanian Wikipedia, blogging, enjoying sunshine... 
Organizations I am a member of: "Swedish food and environment information" www.smmi.nu, "Animal Rights Lithuania" www.animalrights.lt 
Travel experience: I have lived in Lithuania, Germany, Sweden, Slovakia and hitch-hiked in 33 countries (99'210 km). Traveled many times above the arctic circle - ultimately loved it. 
Planned trips, where & when (you can also post your plans in the Forum): One of my ideas is to experience hitch-hiking in all 45 (?) countries of today's Europe, and to visit every single capital in Europe. | When I was a little kid, fascinated by Jack London books, I said to myself: one day I'm gonna walk by foot to the North Pole! However, I am not sure about it now. Some winter, though, I am planning to go into the wild of the north Scandinavia (Lapland) and try to survive there for at least 1 month with the only provisions I'll carry with me. | Even though for the last few years I was residing calmly in Sweden without traveling so much, in general I do have a habit to stay and live and work in different places, experiencing local life not as a tourist, but as an explorer who tries to melt within the local community and its daily routine. My next big desire is to go to Asia in my own car or on my own bicycle, then walk from the Indian ocean coast up to Tibet, staying/living/working anywhere I can. Someday I simply want to abandon this fancy and poshy life in rich Europe. However, I never forget that "When the wishes are few, the heart is happy. When craving ends, there is peace." (The Buddha)... peace... love... empathy...
Anything else about myself: Somehow the fate led me to certain desicions in my life, and these desicions turned everything around and in many ways made me swim against the current. One of those "life decisions" was an agreement (between me and myself) that respect to life should be followed with a respect to all earthlings that are to be born free, live free and die free. This in its turn inevitably led me to accepting veganism as the most humane way of living. Following that I became heavily involved in vegan education and eco- and animal rights activism whereas the accepted view somehow spread further into my family where both of my brothers turned vegans. At the moment I consider myself an animal rights abolitionist (Dr.Gary Francione's views), and am a vegan because I find following reasons to be too strong to ignore: 1. ethical (respect to life, compassion); 2. environmental ("one can't be a meat-eating environmentalist" - probably many of us have heard that), 3. prevention of world starvation and saving limited Earth resources (did you know that to produce 1 kg of meat you need much more land, water and energy than if you produce grains and vegetables?.. that for the production of each kg of meat one needs up to 7 kg of grains which otherwise can be consumed directly by human?; 4. health (every respectful health/dietetic institution will tell you about the benefits of a veg diet). I believe (and I have many arguments for that) that we err by being so selfishly abusive towards the earthlings and our planet in general, - to be a predator is one thing, to be a killing machine is another (although I won't consider human being a natural predator - our nearest relatives - primates - very seldom, if at all, hunt)- animal rights is not some belief like Biblical stories, and not some faith in possibility of something to exist or not (is there God? is there karma and samsara?), animal rights surely can be seen as a clear concept based on reality facts, and furthermore can be considered as a moral and logical statement with a certain level of simple compassion intervened.). THOU SHALL NOT KILL. Sure, humans are the strongest creatures on this planet - but does it give us a right to exploit everything and everyone in order to satisfy our never satisfied wants? Hm, send me a good answer if you know one. ;) Probably one of the number ones for me is a renunciation of all earthly pleasures and letting go of my Ego - in this way I hope to immerse in love and care towards anything around us. Simplicity is the key. :) Well, now you know smth about me.
Help and advice
I can offer:Accommodation:maybe have someone over for dinner
Best times for me to help someone:If you want to stay with us, please be sure that: - your profile is filled extensively - you have references - you write a personal request where you explain why you choose us to stay with.
Nearby public transport: We live in the countryside, about 50 km outside of Stockholm, in an eco-village, to get here one has to take a local train towards Gnesta and get of at Järna where I can meet you. 
Nearby bigger cities, distance: Bejing and Tokyo are just across the globe.
Interesting things to see and do where I live, my tips (please also add this to the
Accommodation
I live with:my partner (wife, husband, girl/boyfriend) - my child(ren)
Sleeping place I can offer:garden - space on the floor - mattress - other:sub-room
Please bring:
Maximum number of guests: 3Maximum length of stay: depends on behaviour
Notification - visitors: should notify few days in advance, must notify days in advance, can call on arrival and are asked to call between 8.00 and 24.00.
Gender of guest:doesn't matterSmoking: outside only
Requirements and Restrictions:do dishes - other:vegan food only
Pets: 
Profile Summary:
 Sponsored Links    ?

Change language: Deutsch - Eesti - English - Español - Français - Italiano - Lietuviškai - Nederlands - Polski - Português - Português (bra) - Русский - Suomi - Türkçe - Українська

Sign up - Contact - Countries - Disclaimer

Copyright © 2000-2012 The Hospitality Club. All rights reserved.