First time here? Questions? Talk to members and volunteers right now! The Hospitality Club
...bringing people together!
Estonian  English  German  Spanish  French
Finnish  Italian  Lithuanian  Dutch  Polish
Brazilian  Portugese  Russian  Turkish  Ukrainian 
Login Sign up!
 Information
All countries
Home
FAQ
Tour
Experiences
Ambassadors
Sample Profiles
Rules
Media
About us
Forum
Chat
Sitemap
Main Menu


 What is this?
The Hospitality Club is the world's largest hospitality exchange organization. We are thousands of friendly members world wide who offer each other free accommodation when traveling. Membership is free and joining just takes a minute - we would love to have you onboard!

Public Profile          
Name:Meinhard Benn My photo!
Street: 
City: Schwerin 
Region/State: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 
Postal Code (ZIP): 19065 
Country: Germany 
Homepage: http://benn.org/
Date of Birth:31.1.1978Gender: Male 
Occupation: nomadic webmonkey and activist
Travels and interests
Languages spoken: German, English, a bit of Romanian, Russian and other slavonic languages
Hobbies, Interests: travelling, nomadism, cultures, squatting, hitch-hiking, floss (free/libre opensource software), hacktivism, ecotopia, sustainable development/energies, indymedia, alternative globalisation 
Organizations I am a member of: i'm not sworn in anywhere, but i used to have close links to eyfa (www.eyfa.org) and i'm a tech/design volunteer at bw 
Travel experience: a lot of hitchhiking during the last years (mainly in the balkans), i was in south-east-asia twice, north america and all over europe (east and west). let me see if i remember all the countries.. DE, CZ, SK, BG, PL, DK, FR, CH, HU, AT, NL, ID, US, UK, IE, IT, FI, EE, TH, VN, KH, GR, ES, UA, TR, YU, HR, SI, BA, AL, MK, RO, BE, MD, AD, SE, NO, PT, .. 
Planned trips, where & when (you can also post your plans in the Forum): i want to go overland to japan! and hitchhike or cycle all the way if possible. i'm actually on my way. but then again, i'm always on my way somewhere.. to quote waking life: "the idea is to remain in a state of constant departure, while always arriving. [this] saves on introductions and goodbyes." - :) i want to try to never ever use a jet engine plane again. they just cause way too much pollution. wish me luck!
Anything else about myself: i like sharing and exchange without using money. you help me, i help you or someone else. easy. i am vegetarian (not strict), prefer not to watch tv, carry a watch or a mobile. but then again i like mixing ecology and technology, using low-tech things and recycle. there are times when i spent a lot of time infront of weasel (my laptop) coding, volunteering, helping, but during the summer i prefer to be on the road and in touch with like-minded people. i feel somehow at home in the eastern nature religions and i am sure that i will spend parts of my life in asia. i wish i would have more time for reading. there i don't really have built up preferences or a certain taste, i still need to get through all the classics. :) i enjoyed bits of hesse, thomas mann, huxley and tournier so far.
Help and advice
I can offer:Accommodation:maybe 
Best times for me to help someone:my mum is fairly available all the time. schwerin is most beautiful in the summer.
Nearby public transport: there is a bus line from my village to schwerin. during the day there is a bus every hour or so. the last bus is around 9 or 10pm. 
Nearby bigger cities, distance: schwerin - 7 km hamburg - 100 km berlin - 250 km rostock - 100 km
Interesting things to see and do where I live, my tips (please also add this to thethe lake! have a walk around it through forests and villages. swim in the crystal clear water, camp on the two islands. no, actually don't camp there, it's prohibited and the fisherman will fine you (if he sees you that is ;) - don't litter and mind the cows on the islands.
Accommodation
I live with:other people
Sleeping place I can offer:garden - space on the floor - mattress - separate room
Please bring:
Maximum number of guests: 2Maximum length of stay: let's say a week?
Notification - visitors: should notify 14 days in advance, must notify 3 days in advance, and are asked to call between  and .
Gender of guest:doesn't matterSmoking: outside only
Requirements and Restrictions:no drugs - do dishes
Pets:a lovely dog 
Profile Summary: I'm currently cruising around Eurasia. :) This means that I can't host you in my hometown Schwerin, but my mum might accommodate you in her house in a village near the city.
 Sponsored Links    ?

Change language: Deutsch - Eesti - English - Español - Français - Italiano - Lietuviškai - Nederlands - Polski - Português - Português (bra) - Русский - Suomi - Türkçe - Українська

Sign up - Contact - Countries - Disclaimer

Copyright © 2000-2012 The Hospitality Club. All rights reserved.