First time here? Questions? Talk to members and volunteers right now! The Hospitality Club
...bringing people together!
Estonian  English  German  Spanish  French
Finnish  Italian  Lithuanian  Dutch  Polish
Brazilian  Portugese  Russian  Turkish  Ukrainian 
Login Sign up!
 Information
All countries
Home
FAQ
Tour
Experiences
Ambassadors
Sample Profiles
Rules
Media
About us
Forum
Chat
Sitemap
Main Menu


 What is this?
The Hospitality Club is the world's largest hospitality exchange organization. We are thousands of friendly members world wide who offer each other free accommodation when traveling. Membership is free and joining just takes a minute - we would love to have you onboard!

Public Profile          
Name:Anne Kim My photo!
Street: 
City: Skokie 
Region/State: Illinois 
Postal Code (ZIP): 60077 
Country: United States of America 
Homepage: http://www.myspace.com/stepintomyoffice
Date of Birth:8.10.1981Gender: Female 
Occupation: Neverending student who works part time
Travels and interests
Languages spoken: English, un poquito español, & extremely awkward attempts at French (close to non-existent! haha). Hopefully one day I'll learn Korean...
Hobbies, Interests: Films. Music (more listening than playing these days). Dumpster diving and attempting to get friends/co-workers to recycle more (without the soapbox). I want to read ALL the books sitting on my shelf. Physical anthropology and primatology. Leaf-cutter ants. History not confined to simply names and dates. Cooking, but it's been difficult to muster up the motivation to get good at it. I want to learn knitting & to sew my own clothes, language and linguistics, how to fix bikes, and so much more... 
Organizations I am a member of:  
Travel experience: So far, I've been to the England, Scotland and Wales several times; Toronto; Montreal (and Quebec for a day!); Belize; Ireland (2x); Paris; Amsterdam; South Korea, Turkey, Spain, only a bit of Norway, Sweden, and Germany. Haven't seen nearly enough of the States or Canada either- is anyone up for a roadtrip? Let's do a crosscountry to the Pacific Northwest. Or to northeastern US and CA. 
Planned trips, where & when (you can also post your plans in the Forum): NYC on NYE 2011
Anything else about myself: Ask me!
Help and advice
I can offer:Accommodation:maybe show around town - have someone over for dinner - other:just ask!
Best times for me to help someone:I'm often very wrapped up in school/work to hang out, but we can always figure something out... I wish I could help more in terms of accommodation, but it can be somewhat difficult as I still live with my mother. Who is somewhat difficult, as well ;) There's a better chance you can stay with my boyfriend, who lives in Chicago proper (on the far north side of the city). He shares a large apartment with a lovely gal who bakes deliciousness... and is a Couchsurfer! So feel free to ask!
Nearby public transport: My place is really close to the CTA yellow line, which takes 10 minutes to get to the north side of Chicago. It now runs on the weekends, yayyyyy! 
Nearby bigger cities, distance: Milwaukee is a little over an hour's drive north of Chicago. The art museum there is beautiful! Indianapolis- 3 hrs.
Interesting things to see and do where I live, my tips (please also add this to theLots and lots (in Chicago). Less and less (in Skokie), although we do have some fantastic Jewish bakery/delis. The Chicago Botanical Gardens are out of the way of downtown, but worth going to, IMO. I've never been to the Morton Arboretum, but if you are going, I'd like to come, too!!! Starved Rock, also! All the Gehry fans can check out Millenium Park. Lots of live music- jazz(Green Mill), classical and opera (CSO, Lyric Opera), blues, rock(EmptyBottle, Schubas), cheap punk shows(Fireside Bowl), folk/roots/intl(Old Town School of Folk Music, Hothouse, Fermilab), dance, etc. Diverse ethnic restaurants, art/historical/cultural museums (MCA, ARTIC, Chicago History Museum, Cultural Center,etcetcetc), architecture, ethnic neighborhoods (eat in Pilsen, Devon, Andersonville, Chinatown, Argyle)...I'm not a big sports fan, but there's Cubs/Sox/Bears/Bulls games to check out. Which I've learned are much more fun than watching on the tube.
Accommodation
I live with:parents
Sleeping place I can offer:space on the floor - mattress - sofa - bed
Please bring:
Maximum number of guests: 2Maximum length of stay: a week? But negotiable...
Notification - visitors: should notify 10 days in advance, must notify 5 days in advance, and are asked to call between any and time.
Gender of guest:doesn't matterSmoking: outside only
Requirements and Restrictions:do dishes - other:just clean up after yrself&no irresponsibly-used drugs
Pets:nope! 
Profile Summary: Like most/all hc'ers, I love traveling and learning about other cultures. Plus meeting new characters along the way. For someone born and raised in the area, I know shamefully little about the history. But give me a holler anyway! I'll help out if you happen to be in my neck of the woods. p.s. I rarely check HC, and I haven't received (or seen!) the messages people send through the site. I always get my couchsurfing.org messages, though! Find me there: http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/annek/
 Sponsored Links    ?

Change language: Deutsch - Eesti - English - Español - Français - Italiano - Lietuviškai - Nederlands - Polski - Português - Português (bra) - Русский - Suomi - Türkçe - Українська

Sign up - Contact - Countries - Disclaimer

Copyright © 2000-2012 The Hospitality Club. All rights reserved.